News Briefs

  • Associate Director Crista Lopes has been included on the list "Women of VR - 35 Ladies Who Are Killing It In Virtual Reality" published by VIAR360.

    April 2017
  • Prof. Gloria Mark has been elected to the CHI Academy, an honorary group of influential individuals who have made substantial contributions to the field of human-computer interaction and have been active participants in the SIGCHI community.

    February 2017
  • Prof. Jim Jones has received the 2016-2017 School of ICS Dean's Award for Undergraduate Teaching, for his excellent and innovative instruction of undergraduates in software engineering. Congratulations!

    February 2017
  • Director Richard N. Taylor has been bestowed the 2017 Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award from the University of Colorado Boulder College of Engineering & Applied Science for his contributions to Education. Taylor obtained his MS in Computer Science in 1976 and his PhD in 1980 from CU Boulder. The award honors outstanding graduates and friends of the College of Engineering and Applied Science. These awards are granted annually to individuals who have distinguished themselves through outstanding personal qualities, knowledge and significant contributions to their fields. Read more about it on the CU Boulder website.

    January 2017
  • Director Richard N. Taylor has been ranked #1 in software engineering on the 2016 AMiner Most Influential Scholar Annual List which names the world’s top-cited scholars in science and engineering.  The list is conferred in recognition of outstanding technical achievements with lasting contribution and impact to the research community.  Recipients are automatically determined by a computer algorithm deployed in the AMiner system that tracks and ranks scholars based on citation counts collected by top-venue publications.  Prof. Nenad Medvidović (USC) ranked at #6, and Profs. André van der Hoek, Jim Jones, and Jim Whitehead (UCSC) ranked in the top 100. A total of eight ISR/IRUS alumni ranked in the top 100.

    December 2016
  • Prof. Sameer Patil (Indiana University Bloomington) has earned three federal patents for his work in app search and discovery.  The common thread connecting these patents is their focus on protecting individual privacy while also opening up the convenience of social app search to a wider audience. 

    November 2016
  • Prof. Walt Scacchi has been awarded $119K by the Naval Postgraduate School, Acquisition Research Program for research on Cybersecure Modular Open Architecture Software Systems for Stimulating Innovation. ISR Research Associate Thomas Alspaugh is assisting in the project. This grant is the eleventh consecutive annual research grant award from the NPS to Scacchi and Alspaugh.

    October 2016
  • Prof. Alfred Kobsa, his former student Bart Knijnenburg who is now an Assistant Professor at Clemson University, and Martijn Willemsen from the Technical University of Eindhoven, Netherlands, received an award totaling $882K in a joint competition of the U.S. National Science Foundation and the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO).  The topic of their planned research is “Using Process Tracing to Improve Household loT Users’ Privacy Decisions.”

    October 2016
  • The Best Paper Award at the 2016 International Conference on Software Maintenance and Evolution (ICSME) has been awarded to Ph.D. student Vaibhav Saini, alumnus Hitesh Sajnani, and their advisor Associate Director Cristina Lopes for their paper "Comparing Quality Metrics for Cloned and Non-Cloned Java Methods: A Large Scale Empirical Study." Congratulations!

    October 2016
  • Associate Project Scientist Joshua Garcia gave a presentation entitled “Lightweight, Obfuscation-Resilient Detection and Family Identification of Android Malware” in September as part of the IEEE OC Cybersecurity Technical Talk series.

    September 2016