The UCI Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences (ICS) has two graduate awards geared towards supporting software engineering students. Are you interested in supporting our students through these awards?

Richard N. Taylor

The Richard N. Taylor Graduate Award in Software Engineering was established in Fall 2018. This was the first award in ICS specifically dedicated to software engineering. It honors the legacy of ISR Founding Director and Chancellor’s Prof. Emeritus Richard N. Taylor. You can read more in this article.

SuCSES 2020 Keynotes Dr. Evelyn Duesterwald (left) and Dr. Daniel M. Russell (right).
ISR helds its second annual Southern California Software Engineering Symposium (SuCSES) on January 24. The goal of this event is to bring together researchers, leaders in industry, and technical practitioners to Southern California to discuss trends in the field of software engineering, showcase current research, formulate visions on strategic future research and technological directions, and build community.

ICS Dean Prof. Marios Papaefthymiou, Informatics Chair Prof. André van der Hoek, Alumna Dr. Rosalva Gallardo Valencia, and ISR Assistant Director Debra A. Brodbeck celebrate establishment of award.In Fall quarter, the Rosalva Gallardo Valencia Graduate Award in ICS was established by alumna Rosalva Gallardo Valencia (Ph.D. 2012) to honor her heritage and support graduate students in need.

Jones receiving Most Influential Paper award at ASE 2019.Congratulations to Prof. James A. Jones for being honored with the Most Influential Paper award at the 34th IEEE/ACM International Conference on Automated Software Engineering (ASE 2019)! This award recognizes the most influential ASE paper of the past 15 years. The 2019 award was bestowed for the 2005 ASE paper titled “Empirical Evaluation of the Tarantula Automatic Fault-Localization Technique,” which was co-authored by Jones and the late Prof.

Chancellor's Prof. Michael Franz Congratulations to Chancellor’s Prof. Michael Franz for being named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Franz was bestowed this lifetime distinction for his “distinguished contributions to computer science, particularly to the areas of just-in-time compilation and optimization and techniques for computer security,” per the AAAS citation.

Professor André van der Hoek and Ph.D. student Adriana Meza Soria from the UCI Software Design and Collaboration Laboratory (SDCL) are collaborating with a team of undergraduate students from Kookmin University in Korea on the implementation of KNOCAP, a tool for collecting important design bits (IDBs) from whiteboard design meetings. Students Seunghwan Hong, Nayoung Lee, and Sanghoon Kim came to Irvine as part of the UCI I-SURF summer research program and extended their visit to Fall quarter to continue working on this project.

Prof. David Redmiles and visiting Prof. Tayana Conte.From February 2019 through February 2020, ISR hosted Prof. Tayana Conte on invitation by her ISR faculty host Prof. David Redmiles. Conte is a professor in Software Engineering and Human-Computer Interaction in the Department of Computer Science at the Federal University of Amazonas (UFAM) in Manaus, Brazil.